It’s understandable if this hurts your feelings. But it’s important to respect other people’s feelings, so ease up on trying to talk to him all the time. You can say something like, “I know you need space, so I’ll leave it up to you to reach out when you’re ready. " You’re more likely to get him to talk to you again by showing that you are mature and respectful than by crossing his boundaries.

Try saying, “I’m really sorry that I argued with you about your brother. I know you guys are close, and I shouldn’t have said what I did. " Give him time to process and accept your apology. It’s okay if he doesn’t forgive you immediately. Just back off and let him heal on his own time.

Try sending a message that says, “Hey, I was just checking in to see how you’re doing. Let me know if you feel up to chatting or hanging out sometime. " It might feel hard to not talk constantly, but it’s really important to go slowly. This lets him know that you care about his feelings, and also shows that you’re not needy.

Try saying, “Hi! I’m so glad I ran into you. I’m looking to buy a new bike and I know you love to ride. Would you mind giving me some pointers on what to look for?” It will be a bonus if he offers to head to the bike shop with you!

Maybe you have bumped into him at school or work. Say, “Hey, it’s hot out today. Do you want to go grab an iced coffee to cool off and catch up?”

If he reaches out, be a little nonchalant. You could try, “Oh, hey! It’s good to hear from you. I’ve been so busy lately I hadn’t thought to touch base. ”

If you recently scored a big promotion, let him know. He might be really into how proud you are of yourself.

Post an Instagram of yourself enjoying time at the lake with your friends. Choose a pic where your smile really shines.

If he’s not into you the way you are, you might not be missing that much by not talking to him. Try to spark up a genuine conversation. If he doesn’t respond, he’s the one that will be missing out.

Go to concerts or try out a new restaurant in your city. If mutual friends let him know you’re out having a blast, that’s a bonus!