Think of how you can accommodate a literal thinker, rather than getting upset that they don’t think in the same way that you do. Respect and celebrate diverse ways of thinking. We each have our own strengths and challenges. Perhaps one of your friends, a literal thinker, is a great mathematician, while you are a poet. As a society we should celebrate their mathematical brilliance and your artistry with words. Be kind. In addition to celebrating differences, you should be compassionate and generous in your communication with a literal thinker.

For example, Antonia will be forthright about what is on her mind, because trying to wrap her thoughts in nuances is very difficult for her. While her bluntness can be difficult, you also can appreciate you always know exactly what she is thinking and feeling and is clear about it. Another example: Tian has challenges with small talk, conversation and other social interactions with others, in part because she has a difficult time with handling the subtle cues and expectations of social communication. She is not much of a conversationalist at the work lunchroom or the holiday party or with most customers. However, she is amazing at problem solving computers, electronics, and other tasks and an great asset to the workplace.

Autism: Autistic people tend to be sincere, straightforward communicators who may not get jokes and sarcasm. They may not understand social nuances, so it helps for people to be clear and patient with them. Brain injury and dementia: Brain injuries and dementia can make someone take things literally. [4] X Research source [5] X Research source Intellectual disability: Abstract things can be hard for people with intellectual disabilities to understand. You may have to slow down and explain more. Schizophrenia: People with schizophrenia or delusional disorders may take things literally. They may not understand that metaphors are not real,[6] X Research source [7] X Trustworthy Source PubMed Central Journal archive from the U. S. National Institutes of Health Go to source so it’s good to avoid metaphors to help with confusion.

Metaphors Idioms Puns Exaggeration/hyperbole Euphemisms Personification of inanimate objects/Anthropomorphism Sarcasm/irony Figurative phrases Flowery or artistic language Implied assumptions

For example, instead of saying “Oh boy, I’m really loving this,” when you are waiting in a long line, say something that makes your feelings clear, like “This is not my idea of fun. I wish we were inside already!”

If you start teasing and they look confused or hurt, stop right away. You can say something like “I’m being silly. I’m sorry if I upset you and that’s not my goal. The truth is that I think you’re cool. "

Use “I” statements to handle difficult feelings. For example, instead of “You’re annoying,” say “I have a hard time focusing when you tap your pencil on your desk. It distracts me. " Do not use overly abstract language. Instead, use concrete words. For example, instead of saying, “I’m under the weather today,” you might say, “I’m sick. ”

For example, if you are talking to a literal thinker about your upcoming vacation to a beach with black sand and the literal thinker is confused, you could show them a photo of a beach with black sand.

For example, you might say, “When I said I would start the task, what I meant is that I wanted you to come over and finish it. Don’t feel bad. I know I wasn’t clear. I will try to be more specific next time. "

Say something like, “Joshua seems like he’s in a hurry. Why don’t we talk about this later?” or, “Marisol’s sarcasm can be pretty subtle. She’s not criticizing you, she’s criticizing your professor for being so judgmental. " It may be worthwhile to take the other person aside and let him know that it helps to be clearer with the literal thinker. For example, “It can be hard for Maya to decipher subtle hints, and I think she was struggling to guess what was on your mind. Next time, it might help for you to tell her outright how you feel. "