If you sit near them in class, try asking them to repeat what the teacher said, for example: “I didn’t catch that. What was the last question?”

State something like: “It’s so beautiful out today. ” If something funny happens, you could say: “I love getting to laugh like that. ”

For example, if they are reading a book, you could ask: “Do you like that author?” Try to combine your observation with a compliment. For example: “That’s a really nice ring. Could I look more closely?”

Try starting a comment with something like: “Wasn’t it great when. . . ?” or “It was so funny when. . . !” Get to know them better by doing the same activities.

For example, you can say: “Hey, it’s March Madness. What’s your favorite team?” Or if you need an explanation, you could say: “That sounds really cool. I don’t know much about it though. Can you explain it some more?” They’ll talk to you more enthusiastically if you share the same interests.

Say things like: “That’s really interesting. Please tell me more. ” Also thank them when they talk to you. For example: “Thanks for telling me about that. ”

Act confident. Being confident is attractive. Be sure to smile.